It’s a GIFT….really!

Standard

Ephesians 2

I just recently started exploring and learning about digital mixed media artwork. My husband got me two styluses for my birthday that I spent some time researching to make sure they were the best at doing what I wanted to do. My mom gave me some money for my birthday and I used it to buy several iPad art apps. I will share these and the stylus info in another post.

While my more comfortable go-to would be to put actual paint on paper, I attempted a digital piece in response to the teaching at my church this Saturday (Bridge City Community Church in Milwaukie, Oregon). We have been having a series on Ephesians. This Saturday my friend Marc Alan Schelske shared part 7 and it was based on Ephesians 2:1-10. I suppose the key verse here, or the most well-known is verse 10: For by GRACE are we saved thru FAITH; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of GOD.

I am sure I can’t even remember how many times I have heard a teaching on Grace…well, probably lots of SERMONS and Preaching on Grace, that may or may not have hit the mark. But, speaking of Mark…Marc seems to always have a way of bringing things down to earth for me and making them current and relevant. I can’t seem to find clear words to describe what I heard in this teaching, what spoke to my heart. That’s why I decided to use a different part of my brain to share this topic with you. I encourage you to check out the teaching, here.

5 responses »

  1. Kim,
    Welcome to the world of WordPress and blogging. I think your digital art is beautiful, thought provoking and inspiring. Thanks for sharing it with us.

    Blessings,
    Kina, aka “L”

    • Thank you Kina. I actually started this blog a year ago and at that time, read up on WordPress and understood it pretty well as I went along. But alas, I have been away from it for a year and now when I try to do something new on here, I seem to be messing up or deleting something from another area. O -well, time to RE-Learn! Thanks for your comment on my digital art. I am enjoying learning the new skill and outlet.

      • Kim,
        There IS a LOT to learn about WP. Each theme has it’s own formatting quirks as well.

        I’m not the artist that you are, but I’ve been learning how to mix & mingle the different iPhone apps to create images and word art, and love how these things allow those of us who are not as artistically gifted to still explore being creative in digital imagery without the technical skills. I look forward to seeing what you do and how you develop your art in this realm.

        You will find some other talented and gifted artists in the WP blogosphere as well.

        Be well,
        Kina

  2. Hey Kim, I love this. It’s cool seeming images and key words from the message woven together like this. The big “hush” in the corner is the best part for me, because when I really focus on grace all the noisy internal voices can simmer down.

    • The “Hush” is one of MY favorite too! In your closing prayer last week you said it two or three times, as though God were telling US to hush. It really touched me.

Leave a Reply

